Maribyrnong City Council Renames Civic Award in Honor of Les Twentyman’s Youth Leadership Legacy

The Les Twentyman Foundation is excited to announce that the Maribyrnong City Council’s Civic Award has been renamed in honor of our founder, Les Twentyman.


This prestigious accolade will now be known as ‘The Les Twentyman Youth Leadership Award’ , recognizing and celebrate outstanding young leaders who demonstrate exceptional commitment to serving their community and making a positive difference in the lives of others.


As the Annual Civic Awards celebrate individuals who generously contribute their time and effort to uplift those in need within our municipality, Mayor, Cr Cuc Lam, said renaming the Youth Leadership Award is a fitting tribute to the highly regarded warrior of the west.


“Les was a true champion for the young people in our community, and his passion for helping others was unmatched. Renaming the award in his honour is a meaningful tribute to his extraordinary legacy, a way to commemorate his dedication and inspire future generations to follow in his footsteps, and symbolise his enduring impact on our community,” Mayor Lam said.


Les Twentyman was a passionate advocate for at-risk youth and a tireless social warrior who devoted his life to creating meaningful change in our community.


Renaming the award in his honor is a profound and fitting tribute to his enduring legacy.


We extend our heartfelt thanks to the City of Maribyrnong for this remarkable gesture. The newly named Les Twentyman Award will continue to acknowledge and celebrate individuals who embody Les’s unwavering commitment to social justice and community welfare.


The Les Twentyman Foundation is grateful for this opportunity to keep Les’s legacy alive through the award. We look forward to seeing future recipients uphold his vision and dedication to making a lasting difference in the lives of others.


To learn more, please visit the City of Maribyrnong’s website



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *